GUEST BLOG- Today is a better day

GUEST BLOG- Today is a better day

By Sarah 

After the mayhem the day before

We had a very causal morning. He likes to run around the house naked before he gets dressed, which is currently one of our biggest battles. The heater is on so this morning I didn’t fight it. I ate my breakfast and scrolled through the photos on my phone. 

We ran out to the grocery store for a few things. He wanted a ‘Jacob roll’ (cheese and bacon roll) which is our treat when we do the groceries.
When we came home we just relaxed. I got the slow cooker on and he played in the rumpus room and watched ABC kids.
Mum called to check how he was as yesterday meant we cancelled plans with her today. His Aunty checked to see how he was today.Daddy messaged and called to see how we were.My response was that he is really good. We are just home doing whatever he wants.


He went off to sleep watching his favourite shows on ABC kids while cuddling into me. He has woken and called my name. He cuddles into me again and drifts back to sleep.
I have things that need to happen, washing to hang, fold and iron, roast dinner to prep and place in the oven, washing to come in off the line, the list does go on.
However today I choose to just be. 

I napped with my little man and now I lay by his side until he wakes. 
I choose to slow down and just be with my son. 

We have danced and sung. 

Talked and played. 

Cuddled and laughed. 
Today has been a great day.
I know there are days and will always be days were I feel I fail as a mother. Or that I’m shit! I have yelled and screamed at my innocent little man. I feel such guilt and remorse and promise I will not do it again.

I apologise to him and he always forgives.
I think I need to apologise more often to me, too. I need to forgive me.

Each day is a lesson and it is my job to make sure I learn and remember. 
I love being his mum. I feel it’s why I am here. 

This is what I was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

